Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Novena to Our Lady of Sorrows starts today, March 25th - April 2nd - click for link

For powerful Novena to Our Lady of Sorrows with St Joseph - follow link on the post's title

The part which the Blessed Virgin took in the sufferings and death of her beloved Son has induced the Church to give her the glorious title of Queen of Martyrs. The feast of the Seven Dolors, originally called the feast of the Compassion of the Blessed Virgin Mary, was first instituted by the Council of Cologne, in 1423. The feast was established to make amends for damages
Hussites had done to the veneration of the Blessed Virgin, whom they, like all heretics, had assailed with many calumnies and insults; in particular, by rejecting Pieta type images of Our Lady holding upon her lap her Son's body.

At the presentation of Jesus in the temple Simeon had predicted that the suffering of the Son would be the suffering of the Mother also: "Behold this child is set for the fall and for the resurrection of many in Israel, and for a sign which shall be contradicted; and thy own soul a sword shall pierce." (Luke 2:34, 35) The ignominy, insults, and cruelties inflicted on Him were to be so many swords piercing her heart. Remember, therefore, on this day the seven dolors which the Blessed Virgin experienced:
At the circumcision of her Son.
At her flight into Egypt with Him.
On losing Him for three days in the temple.
At the sight of Him carrying the cross.
At His death.
When beholding His side pierced with a spear, and His body taken down from the cross.
At His burial.

Let us honour and venerate with utmost piety Our Lady of Sorrows with the nine day Novena. The image is the icon of Our Lady of Sorrows from the Basilica of the Holy Sepulcher on Mt Calvary in the Holy Land.