Wednesday, February 28, 2007

Here are three sixteenth century regulations of a British court that promoted for even seculars the quieting of the tongue and the wisdom of silence:

"Read distinctly. Pray devoutly. Sigh deeply. Suffer patiently. Make yourselves lowly. Give not sentence hastily. Speak but seldom, and that truly. Prevent your speech discreetly. Observe Ten diligently. (*1) Flee from Seven mightily. (*2) Guide Five circumspectly. (*3) Resist temptation strongly. Break that off quickly. Weep bitterly. Have compassion tenderly. Do good deeds lustily. Love heartily. Love hopefully. Love faithfully. Love God only. Love all others for Him charitably. Love in adversity. Love in prosperity. Think always on Love, which is nothing but God Himself. Thus Love bringeth the Lover to Love, which is God Himself."

(*1) Commandments (*2) Capital Sins (*3) Senses


The Roman Catholic Church also recognizes Seven Holy Virtues which correspond to each of the Seven Deadly Sins.

Vice Virtue
Lust (excessive sexual appetites) Chastity (purity of soul)
Gluttony (over-indulgence) Temperance (self-restraint)
Greed (avarice) Charity (giving)
Sloth (idleness) Diligence (zeal/integrity)
Wrath (anger) Forgiveness (composure)
Envy (jealousy) Kindness (admiration)
Pride (vanity) Humility (humbleness)

Proverbs 6:16 – 19
Six things there are, which the Lord hateth, and the seventh his soul detesteth:
Haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that deviseth wicked plots, feet that are swift to run into mischief, a deceitful witness that uttereth lies, and him that soweth discord among brethren.

Today's image is "Seven deadly sins" by H. Bosch